Chicken Cashew

Cashew ChickenOn my last post I wrote about regional foods I enjoyed.  One region I forgot to mention was Asian.  For the most part I like Asian infusion. I find newer recipes come with a little less sodium.  Not that I have a problem with water retention, I just don’t like waking up the next morning with swollen hands and puffy eyes.

I use to watch Martin Yan of Yan can Cook along side with Julia Child.  I’m revealing my age.  Yan goes back to 1978 with his first TV appearance. Yan was as entertaining as Julia Child.  I have one of his cookbooks, Chinese Cooking, I have used often over the years.

My recipe is a derivation from Yan’s cookbook.

Marinade

One tbls. oyster sauce *
1/4 tsp. white pepper

Ingredients for Chicken Cashew

Two skinless, chicken breasts, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
2 tbls cooking oil
2 tsps finely chopped garlic
Eight to 10 green (snap) beans or asparagus cut into one-inch pieces. You can use snow peas if preferred.
1 carrot, thinly sliced
1/2 cup chicken stock
One tbls Chinese Rice Wine or Dry Sherry *
One tsp cornstarch dissolved in 2 tsp water (remember this combination)*
2/3 cup roasted cashews

Combine the marinade above. Using a medium size bowl, zip lock bag or baking dish, add the chicken cubes making sure all are coated with marinade. Cover and set aside for about 15 minutes. Make sure your dog can’t get to them because the chicken needs to be at room temperature before cooking.

Prepare the other ingredients. Take a wok (if you have one or know how to use one, I don’t) or a large wide frying pan (I use) and place over high heat. Add the cooking oil, swirling to coat the whole pan. Add the chicken and garlic. Stir-fry for approximately two minutes. Add the green beans, carrots and stock. Cook for about three minutes. Add the rice wine and cook for another minute. Add the cornstarch mixture and continue cooking until the sauce boils. Add the cashews, mix in well and you’re done.

This recipe serves four.

My notes:

*Use the combination of cornstarch and water shown above to make sauces for any meal.

*I use oyster sauce in many combinations.  I mix with beef stock, soy sauce and corn starch and a little garlic, maybe add some mushrooms and ladle over steak. Yum!

* It is a must to have in your larder, Sherry, Marsala, Port or Brandy.  One can spend a lot of money or just go to the end of the wine aisle and find less expensive bottles.  Yes, they do contain alcohol but the alcohol cooks out, any chemist can prove this.  So don’t be afraid to have these wonderful flavoring agents available.

About Pam Rauber

Photographer, Writer, Home Chef.

2 responses to “Chicken Cashew”

  1. Jillian says :

    I do love me some Asian food! This Chicken Cashew looks TDF!

