Corn Salsa with a Southwest Flare

corn salsa with southwest flare

I can not choose a culinary region of flavor I love most…be it Southern, Italian, or Southwest.  As soon as I try to pick my favorite food, I stop and think of another.  I know food regions I don’t like and stay clear of them completely. But one region of culinary essence I savor is that with a southwest flare.

A great side dish to kick up the heat with this recent cold front is this creamed corn salsa.  Derived from the recipe book I bought from Georgia Grille. It’s a little on the hot side so if dressed in layers, you’ll be removing one layer at a time.

This was served with black beans along with the entrée, pork tenderloin marinated in an apple cider/chile concoction.

Ingredients

One package frozen creamed corn
2 tsp Kosher Salt
Two green onions (scallions), diced
One large shallot, diced
One can diced tomatoes
One jalapeno, diced
1-1/2 tsp Chipotle in Adobo, puréed

Prepare frozen creamed corn according to package instructions. When cooked, add the green onions, shallot and let cook for about five minutes. Add the tomatoes and jalapeno, cook a couple of minutes more and then add chipotle. Continue to cook five more minutes.

Tags: ,

About Pam Rauber

Photographer, Writer, Home Chef.
