Bringing in the New Year on a Budget

pot roast dinner

Christmas Weekend was a house filled with the entire family.  If anyone has kids who love all food then you know, as parents you aim to please. What you budget for gifts and food can get out of hand.

Even though my husband and I start a Christmas budget every January, it never fails, we go over budget. I get caught up in the excitement of the holidays.  At least our Christmas is always paid for and dipping into the savings to cover the balance isin’t so bad.

Now that the holidays are over, it’s time to scale down.

I was watching a video on Cook’s Country on roasting with Top Sirloin.  Since I went over budget at Christmas, I really didn’t feel right spending $6 lb for 4 ½ pounds of meat.  So I opted for the inferior cut of beef, shoulder roast or commonly known as Pot Roast.  By saving 10 bucks, I was able to buy a bottle of Pinot Noir on sale marked down from $17.  That is if you have a Kroger Card.

I took the same recipe for the butter/herb mixture off Cook’s Country and essentially where I could butterfly the roast, I did and stuffed with the herb/butter mixture.  I did not roast mine in the oven but rather braised it in Wine.

I first cut off all fat from roast which then causes the meat to separate in pieces. I slice larger pieces open like a book. Salt and pepper both sides then spread the herb mixture. Fold back to a closed position and tie up.

stuffed pot roast

Sear the roast on all sides to a nice brown color.  Add liquid of choice for braising, cover and let simmer for at least an hour to 1 ½ hours.

pot roast being seared

Herb/Butter Mixture

4 Tbls (half stick) softened butter
2 Tbls olive oil
1 Tbls Dijon Mustard
1/3 cup finely chopped fresh parsley
2 Tbls minced fresh thyme
1 shallot

Mix together the butter, oil and mustard. In a separate bowl mix together the parsley, thyme and shallot. Then blend together all the ingredients. Using half this mixture, spread inside cut meat. Save the mixture on the counter covered with plastic wrap for later.

After the roast has finished, place on a cutting board and spread leftover herb/butter mixture over the meat. Let rest for about 10 minutes.

Resting Pot Roast

Wishing everyone a productive New Year.

About Pam Rauber

Photographer, Writer, Home Chef.
