Pork Loin Over Picadillo

Butternut Squash and Bean Picadillo

I came across some Butternut Squash in the grocery this week and decided to make a Picadillo and what the heck, why not a slice of Pork loin to throw on top.

But first, I have to ask the question…what is picadillo? I researched many sites and found one definition that sums up the answer to my question.

“The word picadillo (pronounced pee-kah-DEE-yoh) derives from the Spanish “picar,” a transitive verb with a variety of meanings including: to mince, to chop up, to crush, to bite, to punch, to chip, to perforate, to peck, to nibble. From picar, we get “picado,” an adjective meaning chopped — when referring to garlic or onion, or minced — when used to modify meat (carne). Picadillo, a diminutive form of picado, means “minced meat” or, even, “hash.”

“picadillo typically refers to a filling or stuffing made of lean ground beef or pork (or combination of both) cooked with spices and ingredients that may include tomatoes, onions, peppers, green olives, capers, raisins or almonds. Some recipes call for coarsely ground meat, others for finely chopped, others still for finely minced — which may explain one of the sources of confusion. Since ground beef is the least expensive and time-consuming, it is what is most commonly used for picadillo”.
Read more from Seattlepi.

Now that I found the definition, I have to conclude that picadillo has changed dramatically over the years because the recipe I provide here does not include minced meat or even hash. Chopped bacon as the protein perhaps but that is all.  My recipe is a derivation of Chef Aarón Sanchez which lists bacon as the only meat. Chef’s Sanchez recipe.

Whenever I see a recipe I’d like to test, I try to work with ingredients I have in my pantry. I don’t like to get back in the car and drive 24 miles round trip just for a couple of ingredients I might be missing.  In my recipe,  I did not have ingredients for the “Garlic-Chipolte Love” listed in the original recipe.

Picadillo

Three slices bacon, chopped
One medium onion, finely chopped
Red Bell Pepper, chopped
clove of garlic, chopped
One butternut squash, peeled, seeded, cubed
One 15 oz. can black-eyed peas
One 15 oz. can corn
One cup of white wine (vegetable stock is a good substitute)
Pinch of red pepper flakes
Salt and pepper to taste
Cilantro, finely chopped for garnish

In a medium size pan, brown the bacon. Add onion, bell pepper, garlic. Cook until onion is translucent. Add the squash and wine. Let simmer for about 15 minutes. Add the black-eyed peas and corn and continue to cook for approximately 10 minutes.

Pork Loin Roast

Sear a one pound loin roast in a Dutch Oven and reduce to medium heat until internal temperature is 140° F. About 15 min. per pound.

About Pam Rauber

Photographer, Writer, Home Chef.

2 responses to “Pork Loin Over Picadillo”

  1. Sprigs of Rosemary says :

    I always love to learn the derivation of a recipe’s description. Thanks for sharing!

