New York Cheesecake in the Deep South? What Would Scarlett Say About That?

Caramel Apple Nut Cheesecake

I have no grudges against Yankees…really, I don’t.   Sense I started blogging, I have been following many blogs, particularly in the area of interest…food.  I am in awe of the people of New York. I read food blogs like smitten kitchen. I just love to read reports of the day to day life of people in New York. Fascinating!  Obviously, it is and will always be the culinary haven of the world.  I’ve only had a two-day visit long enough to tour the Botanical Gardens but if I had the fundage, New York would be one place I would spend a month.

I’m just not a fan of what has become most popularly known as the New York Cheesecake.  I feel like it would make a good weapon if attacked while walking down the street carrying one.  It’s heavy. While, I only experienced one cheesecake slice while in New York for my two day visit, it may not have been a good example but it was the only example I had to go by…and it was called “New York Cheesecake” on the menu.  I’ve also had cheesecake from the well know franchise “Cheesecake Factory” and I’ve also had cheesecake from various restaurants.  They always seem so thick and heavy.  I decided I wanted to try to make one slightly lighter in consistency.

This recipe of mine took months to develop and get to the right consistency.  I sent this cheesecake to my husband’s office and he reported back that it was eaten while the other desserts on the table had been left.  What a compliment.  My other compliment is from my son who always ask for this on his birthday.  This is also my contribution to my family reunion this weekend before Christmas.

UPDATE: There is a downside to this recipe. After the re-union mentioned above I learned this:  Never take this cheesecake to a Christmas family reunion when you did not attend Thanksgiving Holiday with same family members. While eating this cheesecake during the Christmas party, my family raved over the “pumpkin cheesecake to die for” served at Thanksgiving. This recipe was a huge let down and in fact a cheesecake forgotten. Too bad I didn’t inquire the dessert at Thanksgiving or I wouldn’t have made this. My bad.

My Southern Style Recipe of Caramel Apple Nut Cheesecake:

Slice of Cheesecake

Ingredients

10 inch Spring Form Pan
One stick of butter
2½ cups of Graham Cracker Crumbs
1/2 cup of sugar plus 2 Tbls.
Four-8oz. pkgs Cream Cheese
Three eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
tsp lemon juice (optional)
One cup Sour Cream
One Granny Smith Apple
One Cup pecan chips
One jar Caramel Sauce  (Use only about 4 oz. from the jar to adequately cover the cheesecake)

The Process

Preheat Oven to 450°
Slowly melt butter, you don’t want to burn it.
Mix graham cracker crumbs with 2 Tbls sugar
Pour melted butter into graham cracker mix
Spread mixture into the bottom of the spring form pan and slightly up the sides.
Place in the freezer while you prepare the cheesecake.

In a mixer on medium speed add the cream cheese and mix for two minutes. Add the 1/2 cup sugar, eggs and vanilla. Scrape the side of the bowl for a well blended mixture.
Fold in the sour cream.
Pour into the spring form pan

Bake for 10 minutes at 450°, then reduce the temperature to 200° and continue baking for 45 more minutes.
Refrigerate overnight before serving.

Topping

Dice the apple in small bits, sprinkle a little lemon juice to prevent browning. Mix the pecan pieces with the apple.
Carefully pour the caramel sauce over the cheesecake allowing for some to spill over the sides.
Spoon the apples and pecans over the caramel. Slightly pat down into the caramel sauce.

About Pam Rauber

Photographer, Writer, Home Chef.

4 responses to “New York Cheesecake in the Deep South? What Would Scarlett Say About That?”

  1. Sherry says :

    Yum. This sounds really good.Especially the granny smith apples.

  2. Susan Marler says :

    Just yum.

  3. rauberphotoworks2010p says :

    There is a downside to this recipe. Never take this cheesecake to a Christmas family reunion when you did not attend Thanksgiving Holiday with same family members. While eating this cheesecake during the Christmas party, my family raved over the “pumpkin cheesecake to die for” served at Thanksgiving. This recipe was a huge let down and in fact a cheesecake forgotten. Too bad I didn’t inquire the dessert at Thanksgiving or I wouldn’t have made this. My bad.

