The International Holiday Cookie Exchange

This year I participated in The International Holiday Cookie ExchangeI signed up and was given an e-mail address for which I would send a cookie recipe.  In turn, someone else was assigned my e-mail and forwarded to me their recipe.

I am excited to participate in this friendly exchange.  This is my first adventure into exchanges of recipes.

The recipe I received was from Flex Your FoodMy first gut re-action when I received my e-mail with the recipe was to have my grandsons help.  Especially since it involved peanut butter.  They love baking cookies.  After carefully reading over the entire recipe however, I realized having a four and three-year old stand over a gas flame stirring a pot wasn’t a good idea.  So…, I made them instead and will give the boys the cookies later.

No Bake Peanut Butter Cookies

This recipe makes 24 cookies.

Two cups granulated sugar
Half cup milk
Half cup cocoa powder
Half cup butter
Pinch of salt
One cup peanut butter ( I used creamy )
One tsp vanilla
Three cups Rolled Oats ( I used quick cooking* )

Stirring over flame

Mix the sugar, milk, cocoa, butter, and salt in a sauce pan and bring to a boil, stirring occasionally.  Once it begins to bubble, cover and let boil for 30 seconds.  Remove from heat and stir in the peanut butter and vanilla until incorporated.  Fold in the oatmeal until evenly coated.  Spoon heaps onto a waxed covered cookie sheet and allow to cool and set.  They’re ready to eat.

Cookies on Wax Paper

* I made this recipe with the rolled oats and felt they were chewy…a little too much for my grandkids so I re-did the recipe using quick cooking oats.  Much better.  The taster of the house knows.  A Thumbs up.

Tasting the cookie

About Pam Rauber

Photographer, Writer, Home Chef.

2 responses to “The International Holiday Cookie Exchange”

  1. Lori says :

    They look so great! One of my very favorites. Thanks so much for participating in the exchange!

  2. Tessa @ FlexYourFood says :

    Hope you and your grandsons enjoyed them! 🙂

