Leftovers cont’d….

Since my previous post, I’ve remained under house arrest (sorta) due to sinusitis.  I’m getting better but still don’t feel up to preparing and cooking a full course meal so… continue the leftovers.  It is times like these that I am so glad I planned ahead.   Since my husband and I don’t live in a big city situation where ordering in is almost as cheap as cooking, planning is essential.

Tomato Soup

Then there is another good reason to plan ahead for meals.

During this week creativelive.com has provided a four day webinar with Justin Seeley teaching Word Press design for blogsites for photographers.  Each day has been filled with many tips, suggestions and advice in marketing ones blogsite in today’s social media.  Again, I stress the importance of having leftovers ready because these classes on creativelive.com run rather late into the evening on the eastern side of the country.  Creative Live is in Seattle. Here is a plug for creativelive.com.  It is free.  One can buy downloads but the information that comes from these webinars have never been a disappointment. Mostly geared toward photographers.  To pay hundreds and sit in a huge refrigerator room watching a big screen just doesn’t cut it for me. I can sit in front of my computer, join in the chat room, ask questions and know they will be answered.  I come away with a wealth of knowledge.

Hence the reason for another night of leftovers. 

Chili and Cornbread

Quick Fix Recipes for each dish

Tomato Basil Soup

Makes enough for six people but since there are only two of us we have plenty leftover.

A good amount of Olive Oil drizzled on the bottom of a large pot
One Large can (28oz) Tomatoes
One quart (32oz) Beef Broth
One medium yellow,sweet onion, sliced thinly
One clove Garlic, minced
1/4 cup red wine (Alternative – Marsala)
Salt and Pepper to taste
Chiffonade of Basil to top off the soup

Slice onions and mince garlic. In a hot pot, drizzle olive oil then sauté onions until lightly browned. Add minced garlic to cook less than 20 seconds. (Cooking garlic over this amount of time will ruin any dish) Add broth and tomatoes. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 10 -15 minutes. Just before serving add wine for additional flavor. Salt and Pepper to taste.

Chili – Six servings

One pound Sausage (I use Jimmy Dean because it is less fat)
One Large 28oz. can Muir Glen Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes
One 15 oz. can of Chili Fixins’ with beans. Brand is your choice
One Green Bell Pepper, Diced
One Medium Yellow/Sweet Onion, Diced

Brown the sausage and drain fat. Add the onion and bell pepper and continue to cook for a few minutes. Add the Tomatoes and Chili Fixins’ and allow to come to a boil and simmer for about 20 minutes.

Tags: , ,

About Pam Rauber

Photographer, Writer, Home Chef.

2 responses to “Leftovers cont’d….”

  1. Susan Marler says :

    I hate like heck that you’re still not 100%, but whoa, what great ideas for leftovers! I think I see a cookbook in your future. So keep writing for us less accomplished !

