Sweet Potato Biscuits With a Savory Taste of Amber Colored Sweetness

This is truly a southern tradition, Sweet Potato Biscuits and… if you’ve ever been in North Georgia or other areas of the Appalachian Region, then you know these biscuits or plain biscuits are enjoyed most with yet another southern tradition, Sorghum Syrup. A thick, amber colored sweetener introduced in the Appalachians in the 1850’s. Sorghum cane is only harvested in the fall and made available in specialty markets or fall festivals.

…back to the biscuits

I had the privilege of meeting and documenting Rebecca Lang as she demonstrated her southern dish at the recent Taste of Atlanta Festival. Rebecca is a contributing editor to Southern Living Magazine and myrecipes.com as well as author of several books including her newest “quick-fix southern”.

Rebecca’s Sweet Potato Biscuits were the first recipe I had to try from her cookbook. Even though Rebecca’s recipe calls for the use of baby food for convenience, (her book is about saving time) I already had sweet potatoes and decided I would use them instead.

Sweet Potatoes are a staple in my home, used in many meals.

…back to the biscuits

It has been a while since I made biscuits from scratch. When my husband and I became empty nesters, we changed, altered the way we ate. While visiting my mother some years ago, she pulled out a bag of frozen biscuits made by Pillsbury. I was shocked and when I asked why the change, Momma responded, “they’re good and saves me the trouble of making them”. Then, going through a down time in my life (as everyone does) my brother, wife and friends came for a weekend visit. I decided to buy a package of frozen biscuits as opposed to making them from scratch. Funny thing, before everyone came downstairs for breakfast, I had the biscuits ready for the oven and starting the sausage. They didn’t know I had not made them from scratch as they witnessed in visits past so the secret was mine.

I never used a food processor for making bread products so following Rebecca’s recipe, I decided I would try. My only problem with using it was the metal blade. It was difficult to clean off the doughy mixture afterwards. It was nice, however to pull out my grandmother’s rolling pin as it has been idle for some time now.

Who knows, now that the holidays are approaching, I just might start the biscuit making process again. I had forgotten the simplicity of combining dough and butter. I’ll keep a frozen package just in case I run into time constraints with all the family coming for the holidays.

I won’t rule out using a food processor for bread prepping because I’ve used it many times in other food prepping but I sure could use suggestions on easy cleanup of the blade.

With regards to the Sweet Potato Biscuits…I’ll just use that common phrase “I bet you can’t eat just one”.

Following is Rebecca Lang’s recipe with my changes:

1/2 cup buttermilk
2 (6-ounce) jars sweet potato baby food. (I boiled three large sweet potatoes and extracted 12 ounces)
4 cups Southern All-Purpose Flour, plus more for the counter and your hands (I used Gen’l Mills All-Purpose flour)
2 Tablespoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces

Preheat the oven to 425°F. Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper.

Stir together the buttermilk and sweet potato or jar food in a small bowl and set aside.

Combine the flour, baking powder, salt and butter in the bowl of a food processor fitted with the metal blade. Pulse 7 times or until the butter is cut into very small pieces.

Add the buttermilk/sweet potato mixture and process until the dough comes together, about 15 seconds.

Sprinkle some flour on the countertop. Turn the dough out onto the floured counter. Flour your hands well and pat the dough to about 3/4 thick.

Cut the biscuits with a floured 3-inch round cutter. Flour the cutter again before cutting each biscuit. Place the biscuits about 1 inch apart, on the prepared baking sheet.

Bake for 16 to 18 minutes, or until slightly browned.

For more information on Rebecca Lang’s Southern All Purpose Flour, refer to her new book quick-fix southern, homemade hospitality in 30 minutes or less.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Pam Rauber

Photographer, Writer, Home Chef.
