Cabbage and Meatball Soup

Today was a rainy day in North Georgia.  I wasn’t in the mood to walk in the rain from the house to the car, drive down the driveway to the gate, get out and open the gate, drive through and close the gate back, drive 16 miles to the grocery store only to return and do the same all over again.  So….I challenged myself to forage from the fridge and pantry and came up with Cabbage and Meatball Soup.  It was really quite delicious.

The following photos show the ingredients and preparation of the soup.

The Ingredients

I use Johnsonville Italian Sausage for my meatballs.  To the right of the sausage is a new item I just discovered.  These are concentrated containers of Stock to add to soups.  They are pretty expensive but I bought both beef and chicken for the purpose of having in the event I ran out of broth or stock.  I used one container for three cups of water. They blended in nicely.  The other secret to many of my dishes is Muir Glen Organic Tomatoes.  I discovered this from Smitten Kitchen when Deb Perelman was out of fresh tomatoes.  Because they are so flavorful,  and really make a difference in the outcome of my dishes, I’ve just about given up on using fresh tomatoes.

Set up a pot for the soup.  Add three cups of Water and one container of Knorr Chicken Concentrate Stock and set the stove on Medium High Heat.

Take chunks of the ground sausage and make into balls about a half inch in diameter.

Brown the meatballs in the skillet.  Place on a paper toweled rack to absorb excess fat.  Place in a pan and keep warm.

Drain the grease from the skillet but keep residue for sautéeing onion.

Slice a whole, sweet onion and sauté until translucent.  Add to the Pot of Water

Next take a half of a head of Green Cabbage and slice or Julienne and add to the soup.

After this, slice two whole carrots in rounds at an angle.  This prevents slices rolling all over your cutting board.  Place these in the Soup.

Allow the soup to cook for about 30 minutes.  Season with Salt and Pepper to taste.  Ladle the soup into bowls and add the meatballs.

Tags: , ,

About Pam Rauber

Photographer, Writer, Home Chef.
